Extranet Menu

Please login to gain access to this menu and our extranet.

About Us

Our Name

COMPASS Centre for Examination Development (COMPASS) is a not for profit corporation in compliance with the Federal Not-for-Profit Corporations Act. It was incorporated in November 2012.

The name COMPASS is derived from the first four letters of COMPetency and the first three letters of ASSessment. The Centre is currently focused on online, simulation-style, competency-based assessment of the counselling and psychotherapy profession.

Our Logo

The COMPASS logo depicts a stylized compass rose with the north needle in the shape of a maple leaf. The logo is designed as a visual representation of the Canadian-based corporation that seeks to provide direction to the way forward for fair, valid, reliable, and authentic competency assessment. 

Our structure

Our governance structure complies with the federal not-for-profit corporation act and is minimalistic in its bureaucracy. As a policy board, the Directors are stewards of Canadian regions to ensure that decisions reflect pan-Canadian diversity. As of 2013, there are two directors: one from Quebec and one from Nova Scotia. In 2015, we hope to have an Ontario Director in place. Future Directors will be added over time.

Role and Function of COMPASS Directors

  • Policy decisions regarding the sustainability of the Centre
  • Policy decisions regarding the financial viability of the Centre
  • Consultation and decisions related to external entities requesting access to assessment instruments

Note: The COMPASS Board of Directors is a Policy Board. Its role and function does not include any decision-making powers related to the content of any assessment instrument, nor does it have access to any component of any assessment instrument. The Board of Directors does not have access to test development teams

Menu Extranet

SVP ouvrir une session pour avoir accès à ce menu et à l'extranet

À propos de nous

Notre nom

Le COMPASS Centre for Examination Development (COMPASS) est un organisme à but non lucratif enregistré conformément à la Loi fédérale sur les organisations à but non lucratif. Il a été dûment incorporé en novembre 2012.

Son nom, COMPASS, est inspiré des quatre premières lettres du mot COMPétence et des trois premières lettres du mot anglais ASSessment (évaluation). Le Centre se consacre actuellement à l’évaluation en ligne de type simulation fondée sur les compétences liées à la profession de counseling et de psychothérapie.

Notre logo

Le logo de COMPASS représente une rose des vents stylisée dont la pointe Nord a la forme d’une feuille d’érable. Il est conçu pour représenter visuellement l’entreprise canadienne, qui désire indiquer la voie vers une évaluation équitable, valide, fiable et authentique de la compétence.

Notre structure

Notre structure de gouvernance est conforme à la Loi fédérale sur les organisations à but non lucratif, et sa bureaucratie est réduite au minimum. Formant un conseil d’administration de formulation des politiques, ses administrateurs sont des représentants délégués des régions du Canada, dont le mandat est de s’assurer que les décisions reflètent bien la diversité pancanadienne. Depuis 2013, on compte deux administrateurs, l’un du Québec et l’autre de la Nouvelle-Écosse. En 2015, nous espérons compter un administrateur provenant de l’Ontario. D’autres administrateurs s’ajouteront au fil des ans.

Rôle et fonction des administrateurs de COMPASS :

  • Décisions politiques concernant le développement durable du Centre
  • Décisions politiques concernant la viabilité financière du Centre
  • Consultation et décisions concernant les entités externes qui sollicitent l’accès à des outils d’évaluation

Remarque : Le Conseil d’administration de COMPASS est un conseil de formulation de politiques. Son rôle et sa fonction ne comportent aucun pouvoir décisionnel en ce qui concerne le contenu de quelque outil d’évaluation que ce soit, non plus que l’accès à quelque composant que ce soit d’un tel outil. Le Conseil d’administration n’a pas accès aux équipes d’élaboration des tests.